Industrial Engineering Honor Society Chapter Wins First Outstanding Chapter Award


Photo submitted

Alpha Pi Mu’s U of A Chapter won first place for the 2021-22 Outstanding Chapter Award. Over the past two semesters, the section has been very busy supporting students and the community in its efforts.

Some chapter-sponsored events were a welcome breakfast for the start of the semester, a global studies event to explain the application process for global scholarships, and a graduate preparation event to answer questions about the graduate school application process.

Volunteer opportunities included “Packing the Pantry” for the Full Circle Food Pantry at the Volunteer Action Center and volunteering at the Habitat for Humanity ReStore to organize and clean the warehouse.

In addition to these activities, three of the senior members have obtained national scholarships from Alpha Pi Mu: Shantal Sarmiento received the John L. Imhoff Globalization Scholarship; Natalia Sandhu received the Paul E. Givens Diversity Fellowship; and Coleman Warren received the Alpha Pi Mu Fellowship.

Faculty Patron, Associate Professor Kelly Sullivan said, “It is a great honor for our chapter to receive this award. I am grateful to an exceptional team of student officers whose dedicated service and leadership most deserve this recognition.

Carrie Pennington, Program Coordinator in the Department of Industrial Engineering, serves as a staff support person and plays a key role in helping students succeed in their projects.

“Alpha Pi Mu has done an outstanding job of engaging with our student body and local community over the past year,” said Ed Pohl, Head of the Industrial Engineering Department. He continued, “I would like to thank our faculty and staff advisors, Dr. Sullivan and Ms. Carrie Pennington, for their mentorship and support in helping the officers and members of Alpha Pi Mu successfully plan and execute these support events with the industrial engineering student body as well as the local community.”

The Chapter Committee for 2021-22 included: Natalia Sandhu, President; Camila Schrader, Vice President; Luc Weiner, Treasurer; Valerie Jackson, secretary; Brandon Jerome, social president; Kaitlyn Frey, President of Media; and Austin Wood, historian.


About Author

Comments are closed.